4 Comments

Contentment

I am sitting in my office on a Saturday morning catching up on work I’ve missed the past few weeks. I am content with life. I’m listening an American country music radio station on my computer and about to start working through my list of things to do. My office is littered with bits and pieces of my life. There’s a compass and first aid kit, camping plate and mug, a set of thermals, some spices in zip lock bags, my travel journal and a stack of library books that need to be returned. Such is life when you don’t have a house.

It’s almost impossible to believe that I am setting off in seven weeks. The time is passing very quickly as I squeeze in all those “last” things I want to do. There’s the coffees and drinks with friends I’ll miss while I’m away. There’s the Oxfam Trailwalker Brisbane where I am volunteering for two shifts. There’s the remaining bits of my old life to cancel and close (like old bank accounts and road toll accounts).

But for all that there is to do in this Autumn of transition, I feel a deep sense of contentment. I know I am on the right path for me. I have slowed down. I have stopped worrying about things like money and time. Suddenly those things are unimportant. What’s important is living life to the fullest and being true to myself. I could be depressed or sad about what is now gone from my life but, instead, I am buoyed by the happy memories I collected; they are the strength that helps me flow forwards with the waves of time. A strong loving woman loved me deeply and I her. To have known true love once is a gift that I will always cherish. And it is through the eyes of one who has been loved so deeply that I am seeing the beauty in every day of my new life.

Yes, I am content. I feel relaxed and centered. I know life will throw more curve balls but for now, I bask in the contentment of knowing I am on the right path for me.

4 comments on “Contentment

  1. Andrew, I’m in town for the day and catching up on blogs. This one really struck me and you really seem to have moved forward in the past few weeks, with the blogs becoming more positive. Really nice words.

    • Thanks Steve. Yeah – definitely feeling more positive. I tried to keep my more depressed and anxious moments away from social media. It’s so exciting to be moving forward again.

      I haven’t been writing much about the outdoors the past week or so because I’ve been making time for family and friends. It’s been a really blessed experience. I am hoping to take a two-week motorbike trip down the coast from next week Thursday to visit some people I know who live 800km (500 miles) from where I have been living.

      Life is just one big adventure isn’t it. I hope you are loving your AT experience as much as I am enjoying reading about it.

Leave a Reply

