6 Comments

Day 13 – A day in the life of this working traveler

 photo IMG_20140603_121208_zpsphg2ryo1.jpg

I hear the birds outside my tent. They’ve just started to chat so it must be dawn. I snuggle down into my sleeping bag and just listen to them. If feelings can be delicious, then this is it. The new tent has proved a great success as I am waking feeling more refreshed and human than I was in my old one. It feels like home rather than a temporary hut. I stretch out and take my time getting up. The camp kitchen feels a little empty now that A has left. He had been here a few weeks before I arrived and we fell into an easy rhythm of chatting over the divider between the two halves we occupied. I almost miss his Triple J music (something I never thought I’d say about Triple J) as I set about cooking my apple and cinnamon pancakes for breakfast. It’s funny – I like to travel alone but am a social creature who enjoys the company of strangers at meal times. No doubt this will become a rhythm for me: meeting people, sharing meals then parting ways.

 photo IMG_20140603_113858_zps9wrejras.jpg

It’s time to get some work done. I start by setting up on my picnic blanket in the shade on my tent site. I enjoy working laying down no matter what the occupational health and safety rules might say. It encourages my creativity, which is important as I work as an eLearning course author. Yes, I still have to work. I might have said goodbye to the office but not to my job; that is how I am funding this adventure. As morning turns to noon I walk to the shop (this is a one-shop town) to buy a few things before setting up my office at a picnic table near the water’s edge. The table is shaded now so I can enjoy an amazing view over the bay where fishermen and paddlers launch their boats, tourists swim in the shark enclosure (designed to keep sharks out) and anglers cast their lines off the jetty.

 photo IMG_20140603_175749_zps13bmsrrf.jpg

By about 3:30pm I am done so I turn off my laptop and “shut up shop” for the day. I’ll still have to work a little tonight but for now, it’s time to go explore the tidal flats.

 photo IMG_20140603_175855_zpswmsxl0ls.jpg

I admire the reflections of the unseasonally cloudy sky in the puddles that have been left by the receding tide.

 photo IMG_20140603_180156_zpsiukbm2oa.jpg

And marvel at the silhouettes of the old dead trees that line the water’s edge.

 photo IMG_20140603_175638_zpsymvm9wjr.jpg

The jetty is the place to be during the golden hour. Families fish, caravaners set up their camp chairs to sip beer and wine, boaties change guard as the daytime fishermen return and the night fishermen head out to sea, and everyone watches the dolphins that visit at the same time every night.

 photo IMG_20140603_183752_zps2olbyjny.jpg

My day doesn’t just end when the sun goes down. Sure, I am not a party animal checking out the pubs and bars (not only because there are none here). But I do like to cook and eat well. In fact, one of my favourite things about this lifestyle is that it gives me time and mental space to enjoy my food, rather than eating being an inconvenience to be suffered through at the end of a busy day at work. I am enjoying the Thai-style Penang curry sauce and coconut milk. It feels a little luxurious so I light my candle and treat myself to a romantic dinner for one before cracking on for a few more hours of work (because every hour I do at night is an hour of freedom during the day).

6 comments on “Day 13 – A day in the life of this working traveler

  1. Every time I consider doing something bold (like quitting my job and going travelling), I think of a thousand things that might be holding me back… with fears of not having a job/financial security being one… but I work in the same field as you, and you’ve now planted the seed for me to ask for six weeks ‘off’ work. I’d love to visit my bro and sis in Australia, but I know they’d be working for a lot of that time. I hadn’t considered th epossibility of ‘working from home’ in that time until now. Thank you 🙂

    • I totally get what you mean about fear of job/financial security holding you back. I have the same fear. However, tonight I am about to write an email to my employer to tell them that I will only work up to 22 hours a week, not the 38 currently required. Scary move but I know they need my skills. I want to give this change of lifestyle a red hot crack, not just work full-time in a different location for the next 6 months while I wait for permission to go part-time.

      I would definitely consider working from home.

      Where in Oz are your bro and sis?

  2. One of my friends realised that he could afford to live on a fraction of his salary, so every year he now takes 3 months off to go travelling. He takes a bit of stick from co-workers who are jealous of his holidays, but he points out that it is unpaid leave, so there’s no reason why they couldn’t do it. If you can enjoy a happy and fulfilling life where all of your basic needs are met, you’re doing so much better than someone working full time, but with no time to enjoy life.

    My sis moved from Mount Isa (where she’d been for 15 years) to Moranbah at Christmas and my bro lives in Orange. My sis will come home for a family wedding next year, but my bro can’t afford to visit, so unless I visit him, I don’t know when I’ll see him next.

Leave a Reply

