4 Comments

The Logan River

 photo IMG_20140507_073855_zpsptcvpgw2.jpg

Her murky brown waters have been a constant in my life. It’s said that her waters are infested with bull sharks and that swimming in them is just asking for trouble so I’ve never dared. But despite her colour and ill-repute, I love this lazy brown river that meanders past the places I have long called home. She’s the southern boundary of the lands to which my soul is bound and her northern flood plains are the place where I am at peace.

As I sit on a pontoon along the river eating breakfast, I realise that I will soon be saying goodbye to my country. But I also know that I will one day return, even if just to visit because the call of the paperbark swamps and muddy waters will be too great for me to be forever gone. I wasn’t born here in this land girt by sea, but the lands between the northern side of the Logan River and the Bay will always have a special call. And that’s a wonderful thing to know.

4 comments on “The Logan River

  1. When a place gets under your skin, and you feel like you belong there, be grateful – the land is embracing you as one of her own.

    The Yugambeh people called this river “Dugulumba”. It sounds to me like you’re starting to understand how they felt about it.

    It’s comforting to find out where we belong 🙂

  2. I agree Neil 🙂 I have always felt grateful to have a place that calls to me. Unfortunately, I think we might have unintentionally built our house on a sorry place. The house never quite felt right once it was built and we had strange things happening (television turning itself on and subwoofer turning itself up loud so we had loud humming in middle of night). I wasn’t as in tune with my connection to the land yet when we first moved in (I grew up in the area but left for 10 years before feeling compelled to return). But I think that the connection I have is why I noticed the sensation of disquiet in the house.

    One of my friends once asked me whether I had any Aboriginal heritage due to my connection with land and the way land “feels”. I don’t but I am a deeply spiritual person and perhaps that’s what it is. Which is probably why I feel so much more centred since I moved out of my house. Thank you for sharing the name of the river. I genuinely appreciate it.

    I think it’s important for more Australians to come to know the stories, names and connections that the Traditional Owners have with our country. For then perhaps we’ll all feel more at ease here together (e.g. I still can’t get my family and friends to understand why I won’t climb Mt Warning or why I wouldn’t climb Uluru – but if they understood then they wouldn’t do it either without invitation).

  3. How unfortunate about the disquiet. It’s water under the bridge now – but perhaps asking one of the traditional owners for help might have made a difference?

    Just a personal opinion – I think considering its peaceful nature, “Dugulumba” is a much more worthy name for the river than “Logan”. Despite his intrepid exploration, Patrick Logan was quite a tyrant at whose hands many unfortunate people died.

    • I actually know nothing about Captain Logan. I’ve never been interested in history because I struggle to relate to it. I thing Dugulumba is a much better name and I think it would also better suit the demographic of the places the river runs past.

      And yep, the disquiet is water under the bridge. I am excited about the new adventures. Have changed my plans so that I am now going to Adelaide to stay with a mate before I cycle down there. Because it has bearing on this conversation, he is a Bundjalong man living far from his country.

      I’ve only briefly been to South Oz so it’s going to be great to explore somewhere new. It will be cold but that’s just part of the adventure.

Leave a Reply

