4 Comments

The first night as a nomad

Bubbles and rocks photo IMG_20140501_070212_zps2e79081e.jpg

I’m cozy in my tent as thunder rumbles in the distance and rain patters on the nylon. It’s a small but comfortable space. The tent’s interior is just 2.2m (7′ 2 1/2″) long and 80cm (2′ 7 1/2″) wide. Outside the vestible is just 70cm (2′ 3″) wide at it’s apex. By comparison, the house I just sold was 34 house squares and yet I’m absolutely at home here in my tiny tent. All night the rain patters on the nylon as I sleep contently.

I wake in the morning to blue skies and wet gravel outside my tent. It’s peaceful and quiet as I pack the gear I need for work onto my motorbike. A short walk of about 100m (110 yards) takes me to the banks of Cedar Creek. I sit on the rocks and cook some porridge with apples for breakfast. I still can’t believe I’ve actually taken this massive leap. This morning it is all so real. This is my life now … If this morning’s breakfast on a bubbling rocky creek is anything to go by, it will be a good life.

4 comments on “The first night as a nomad

  1. Good luck – sounds like the trip of a lifetime, enjoy every minute!

  2. I was thinking about you last night when I heard the rain and visualised you all happy in your tent. Curled up like your cat!

Leave a Reply

