2 Comments

A day at River Life

Waiting for the 7am barge home

Waiting for the 7am barge home

I woke early in my tent to get the 7am barge back to the mainland. I slept better than I have all month, having decided to stop trying to control the changes in my life. My small tent is a place of peace for me and that it was all night. And so it was that I found myself enjoying the morning reflections on the glassy waters of Moreton Bay at the Dunwich barge terminal. I sat there quietly for about 40 minutes just breathing the fresh bay air.

Leaving the island

Leaving the island

There were only two walk-on passengers on the big vehicle barge for the 45 minute trip back to the mainland. The sun rose in the sky behind us as we set off westward across the bay. Yachts moored in the Peel Island harbour looked sleepy in the morning sun and fisherman in small tinnies looked content wetting their lines as they drifted through the channel. I hung over the rail on the top deck taking everything in. The schools of fish flashing silver on the surface of the bay and the sound of the occasional splash as something bigger breached the surface (bull sharks perhaps). And then the big barge was steered skilfully through the narrow channel between the mud flats at Cleveland to land us safely back on the mainland.

Segway star

Segway star

Last year my sister and I won some free passes to River Life in Brisbane city when we won best dressed at the Hear and Say Brizmazing Race. We had to use the passes this weekend before they expired so my sister booked us in. The activities started with a 25 minute segway obstacle course session. We were the only people in the group so had free reign to do almost anything we wanted to (within safety reasons).

The segway attacked me

The segway attacked me

So we raced around some cones and garden beds like pros. During our session, we took the opportunity to take some fun photos. First a segway attacked me when I was innocently standing around (I actually did not fall off).

And then they held me captive

And then they held me captive

And then the other segways joined the attacker to take me captive. Segways are very scary when provoked 😉 (It felt so good to just laugh again)

Brisbane CBD from a kayak

Brisbane CBD from a kayak

After the kayaking we went out to lunch at the Cliffs Cafe at the top of the Kangaroo Point cliffs. The food was good and the views of our river city pretty. Then it was back down to the river for an instructed kayaking session. I love our city and it’s even more beautiful when you’re down at water level in a small sit-on-top craft. There’s something interesting about the meeting of Mother Nature and modernity.

City Cats and paddlers: so Brisbane

City Cats and paddlers: so Brisbane

We paddled out along the mangrove lined banks around Kangaroo Point and under the Story Bridge. It was such an iconic Brisbane experience and one I recommend to visitors and locals alike. City Cat passengers waved as we passed each other and we all had a great time.

Rafting up in the shade

Rafting up in the shade

My sister and I found ourselves taking way out in front of the group. Being experienced paddlers in a group of novices will do that. So, about 100m from the end of the tour, we rafted up under a pontoon to enjoy a final few minutes of the river’s flow in the shade. We sat there talking and laughing wondering what the people above us would have thought about our voices drifting up from below.

I’m glad I have decided to let go of control and go with the flow. Being around the water for the past two days has helped.

2 comments on “A day at River Life

Leave a Reply

