7 Comments

A short break from blogging

It’s been 4 weeks since I returned from Kenya and I’ve not had the time or energy to do anything adventurous. There’s a lot going on in my life right now. The short story is that my partner and I are separating after 16 years together, and we are selling our house. As you can probably appreciate, this is a stressful time of transition and it’s taking a lot of energy.

I might be offline for a week or a month. But I will be back with loads of adventures once this period of transition settles down.

7 comments on “A short break from blogging

  1. I am missing your blogs. I can understand that it is very stressful. I hope that the Carnavon gorge will be a nice break soon.

  2. Wow, that’s a huge change. I hope the transition goes as smoothly as possible. Glad you have the bike to help you through it!

    • Thanks 🙂 Yeah, the change is really big. I am slowly finding my way through it. Went to see a therapist last night and found that super helpful. Today I have found a place and way to live once the house sale goes through (the house is under a contract of sale but it’s still conditional on passing building and pest inspection, and the buyer obtaining finance). I don’t want to say too much here until the contact goes unconditional (buyer has until 14 April) and then I will put my plans into action. Let’s just say, though, that I don’t intend to simply rent a house … I am far more creative than that 😀

  3. Take all the time you need, Andrew. We’ll all still be here!

    • Thank you Angela 🙂 I am in limbo just now waiting to learn whether the house will pass building inspection. I found rising damp yesterday so have a tradesman coming out to repair it tomorrow but the building inspection is also tomorrow. Here in Australia, the buyer has the right to walk away from a contract of sale for property if they do not accept the building inspection report. However, I am hoping that the fact that I’m getting the issue rectified will protect me. I really need this sale contract to go through so that I can move on. We are still living in the same house and I can’t start to grieve the loss of our relationship until that changes. I also can’t begin to write my new chapter until the last one is fully closed.

      I imagine in some ways it might be like the situation you might have experienced when you learned the cancer treatment was working but hadn’t had the final all clear. That period of limbo when you just have to take one day at a time and celebrate the little wins in other areas of your life (like working out what I’m going to write in my university paper that’s due next week that I haven’t actually started).

      But the Universe will provide and this too shall pass. When I am an old man sitting in my rocking chair, this anxious period of change will be just a small blip in the soundtrack of my life. (Note the intentional use of the word “but” because everything that goes before that word is irrelevant and what comes after is most important)

      • Yes, I can imagine it’s very similar to that time of limbo between the end of chemo and getting the official all-clear declaration from the doctor. Hang in there. It’s a cliche, but when one door closes another one opens. It’s usually true.

Leave a Reply

