12 Comments

The world is so huge

Deciding where to go

Deciding where to go

With seven months before I leave Australia on my adventure, there is plenty of time for me to change my mind about what exactly that adventure will be. It started with cycling from Patagonia towards Alaska. But then I went to Africa and fell in love with that continent and the idea of overlanding there on a motorbike. But I keep finding limits to that approach (for example, all the hikes I want to do in Namibia are closed from October – February) and I keep finding other really cool things I’d like to do (for example, hiking in Patagonia, taking a camel trek in Tunisia or spending Christmas with my grandmother in Holland).

So I’m taking a new approach. I’ve bought a world map from a school stationary supplier. The back of the map has larger extracts of Europe, Asia and the US. I’m going to take some time to read guide books and “best treks / adventures / bike rides” in the world books and mark up the map. I am sure that a pattern will emerge that will help me to decide what exactly I’ll do next year (or at least where I’ll start my adventure). So far I’ve been focusing my reading on southern Africa but I am now expanding to Scandanavia and Patagonia. After that I’ll just work my way around the world courtesy of my local public library.

Half the fun of an adventure is the planning. And, besides, it’s a good distraction from the stress of selling a house and ending a long-term relationship. Though it’s not that compatible with my need to study for university – haha. All I know is that the next couple of years are going to be epic. Next month I can start exploring more of Australia by bicycle, foot and motorbike during the weekends, and then from November I’ll be someplace new.

12 comments on “The world is so huge

  1. The W trek in Patagonia looks ace! Hope you decide to do that and safe travels!

    • I think the W Trek and the full trek of the same are of Patagonia look amazing (can’t think of name of top of head because am at work). Actually, all the treks in Patagonia look amazing! I’ve just reserved a “trekking in Patagonia” book from the library πŸ™‚

  2. If my step-Dad was reading this, he would definitely second Patagonia (and since I am, I’m seconding Patagonia based on his travel stories)!

    • πŸ™‚ . I’m leaning towards the Israel National Trail in November-December then Jordan in January, Holland to visit family in February, the UK in March-April and then either Iceland or Italy in May and early June before returning to Australia for 6 weeks for work. Then I’ll probably do the USA/Canada in August-November (2015) before traveling south to Patagonia in December-February (2015-16).

  3. Plans are meant to be changed. Hang loose and don’t plan too carefully. No telling what adventures await you on the road and what changes you’ll make in your plans.

    • πŸ™‚ Wise words. Am just trying to stay positive during a difficult period of life. Exploring different plans helps to do this πŸ™‚ .

      • So sorry to hear this. I can imagine you’re having to make a lot of changes now to get ready for your trip. Hang in there!

        • The real issue is sadness about end of 16 year relationship and guilt/frustration at not being able to make it work. All those hopes and dreams just up in smoke. There’s more to the end of the rship than travel. Even though some will think that’s all because I’m keeping many things private. But am seeing a therapist on Monday to get some perspective πŸ™‚

  4. I’m really sorry to hear about everything you’ve been going through – it’s obviously a pretty traumatic time for you, but you’re clearly good at picking yourself up and moving on. I hope that you’re able to remember the best bits fondly. I’ve not been online as much as usual in the last 6 weeks and I’m only now catching up with your blog. If you do make it over to the UK in March/April, please get in touch. I live near to a National Park (the New Forest) that offers some stunning cycling, and all of my family is based in Cornwall (the far SouthWest of the UK), so we’d be happy to host you for a bit πŸ™‚

    • Hey there Tamsyn πŸ™‚ Yes, It’s been a challenging time but it will only make me stronger. I guess life is all about change and how you handle those changes. I will definitely remember the happy memories fondly because there are far more of them than sad ones. I’ll definitely get in touch when I make it to the UK. I’m not yet sure exactly what my movements will be but my grandmother lives in Holland and I will be going over to visit her sometime in late 2014 or early 2015 so that will probably also result in me going to the UK πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

