6 Comments

Getting back into life at home

I’ve been back from Kenya for a few days now. It’s been so hectic that I’ve barely had a chance to do any exercise, let alone feel any jet lag. Here’s how my return to Kenya has looked (note, I’m not complaining – I just can’t believe how much I’ve achieved this week so soon after returning home):

Tuesday 

  • 7:10am – land in Brisbane
  • 8:45am – walk in my front door at home
  • 12:00pm – arrive at work
  • 4:30pm – depart work
  • 6:00pm – attend a university lectorial (it’s the first week of classes here in Australia for semester 1, 2014)
  • 8:15pm – leave university
  • 9:00pm – arrive home, make dinner, see my partner for the first time since I left for Kenya
  • midnight – finally go to bed

Wednesday

  • 8:00am – see my doctor
  • 8:30am – 5:00pm – work
  • 6:30pm – meet with lighting consultant about getting lights installed so we can prepare our house for sale
  • 7:00pm – 9:00pm – prepare for Thursday night’s university class

Thursday

  • 8:30am – 4:30pm – work
  • 6:00pm – 8:00pm – university class
  • 9:15pm – arrive home, make dinner, prepare for Friday night’s university class

Friday

  • 7:30am – 4:30pm – work
  • 6:00pm – 8:00pm – university class
  • 9:15pm – arrive home, make dinner and hopefully I’ll have time to rest.

In between all that, I’ve had to set up new bank accounts, organise new health insurance and separate out my share of the household bills given that I am going to be an “I” for the first time after being a “we” since I was 18 years old (I’m now smack bang in my mid-30s).

Oh, but I did find time to book a campsite for a weekend cycling tour next weekend 🙂

6 comments on “Getting back into life at home

  1. You already forgot about the 2 hour lazy lunch!

  2. You’ve hit the ground running!

Leave a Reply

