3 Comments

Kenya Day 3 (Part 1) – Rosemary’s guest house

Rosemary's guesthouse

Rosemary’s guesthouse

Again I find myself wide awake at 4am and unable to return to sleep. I’ve slept like a log without dreams and finally feel refreshed for the first time since we left home on Friday. I lay under the bright blue mosquito net on the comfortable bed reading Janapar. I have mixed feelings about the book but I reach the finish and realise that my feelings are partly to do with where I am in my own life right now as they are about the book itself.

My room at Rosemary's guesthouse

My room at Rosemary’s guesthouse

Roosters herald the dawn and the grey skies start to turn orange outside my window. It’s been raining and the air feels refreshingly cool. Over the next couple of hours, I hear Nakuru wake up. A tuk tuk engine splutters to life and I hear the motorized tricycle make its way slowly through nearby streets. The first voices I hear belong to children. Then I hear some adults. I wonder whether they are the parents, telling their children to go back to bed because it’s too early to wake. The sound of the nearby mosque’s call to prayer starts to drift in on the breeze.

View from the balcony

View from the balcony

I sit on the balcony overlooking Rosemary’s courtyard and the surrounding buildings. The courtyard contains a patch of grass, some sort of fruit tree and some bottle brush (calistamon) trees that are flush with red flowers reminiscent of those I have in my own back yard at home. Like most of the fences I have seen here, the top of the grey block fence bristles with broken glass, intended to keep intruders out. The property behind Rosemary’s contains a small vegetable garden. The plot is probably about 50mx20m in size and I can see corn, brassicas and what looks like capsicum. This seems to be common here, as I saw quite a few similar plots yesterday.

Another view from the balcony

Another view from the balcony

The buildings that surround the courtyard all look like Rosemary’s. They are constructed of grey blocks or large rocks cemented together. The roofs are made of concrete tiles of black or red colour. The trimmings, such as windowpanes, balcony railings and gutters are painted in pale blue or white. The usual adornments associated with urban living abound: satellite television receivers, a mop leaning over a balcony railing, and a late model car parked in a driveway behind a blue metal gate.

I can see a small construction site where new buildings are being erected. Well, not right now they’re not because it’s still only 7:20am on a Sunday. The site has a large pile of concrete blocks piled up behind it; most likely the resources that will be used for construction.

The roosters are crowing again as I hear birds start to twitter and tweet. Some honeyeaters are taking their breakfast in the bottlebrush in the courtyard; their long beaks making for easy access to the delicious sweet nectar. All the while, Nakuru continues to wake as the sounds of the city become increasingly louder.

Later this morning, Christopher will come to take us to his church. I like this earnest man who runs the Nakuru Hope project on the ground. His passion was evident yesterday as he told us of the project’s successes and challenges. He is quietly spoken but has a determined expression in his eyes. Last night we enjoyed Rosemary’s company. She’s a vibrant and friendly lady  who runs this guesthouse and also has other business ventures. A big fan of the Chelsea soccer team, she and my dad have a friendly rivalry with him being an Arsenal fan. I don’t know who won the soccer match though because I fell asleep on the lounge. I think I’ve just has so much going on in my life in general that I’m grateful to be able to just rest a bit at the end of the day.

3 comments on “Kenya Day 3 (Part 1) – Rosemary’s guest house

  1. I can’t wait to read about your church experience! No doubt to come when you have internet access again.

  2. […] and planning for my motorbike adventure through southern Africa is well underway. After Rosemary (of Rosemary’s Guesthouse fame) made some enquiries for me about the price of the Yamaha DT175 and Yamaha AG200 (both almost twice […]

Leave a Reply

