6 Comments

Back home

Just a quick post. I came home from the hospital yesterday morning. The neurologist gave me the all clear. There is no explanation available for what caused the facial numbness but I have been told by the neurologist that I need to get my hemoglobin count down to reduce the thickness of my blood. I am off to see a doctor with a special interest in transgender medicine on Tuesday so will learn more then.

In the meantime, I’ve had another bag of blood removed and am adjusting my exercise regime to reduce the risk of dehydration. I’ll also be taking a break from Audax until my hemoglobin levels stabilise. But that’s not all bad because it will leave me more time for bushwalking and cycle touring.

The good news is that:

  • I am still allowed to travel to Kenya next week
  • there is no reason why I can’t continue to explore the world on two wheels and foot
  • experiences like this provide me with a reason to reflect on my priorities, lifestyle, values and options for the future.

I’m hoping to go for a short easy ride later this afternoon. I’m looking forward to it.

6 comments on “Back home

  1. Glad to learn it wasn’t something more serious, and best wishes getting it sorted out.

  2. Great to hear you are home! And also that you can still travel, I couldn’t for a while when I was going through my heart stuff. Take it easy and hope all is resolved soon! πŸ™‚

  3. Wow Andrew! I am so glad you are relatively OK! Take care of yourself and be safe in Kenya!

Leave a Reply

