10 Comments

Homemade strassburg sock

Homemade strassburg sock by AndrewGills
Homemade strassburg sock, a photo by AndrewGills on Flickr.

I’ve been experiencing tenderness in my left Achilles since July 2013. I injured the Achilles while out running between returning from the Great North Walk and starting Cycling for Hope.

It doesn’t bother me when I walk or cycle. But the area between my calf and just above my heel is painful to touch. My physio suggested trying a strassburg sock last year but I didn’t have the $80 to buy one (or should I say, I didn’t want to spend my $80 on the sock).

I saw a doctor on Tuesday to make sure the pain is muscular and not vascular. The doc insisted I get a cortisone injection in the Achilles to settle it. He didn’t seem interested in discussing potential risks so I messaged my physio for a second opinion. Needless to say, I did not make an appointment for said cortisone injection.

When I spoke with my physio he joked that I could just make a sock if I had a sewing machine. Well, I do have a sewing machine, fabric, velcro and an old football sock. It took all of 15 minutes to whip this up and it worked a treat last night.

It’s comfortable and my big calf muscles ensure that the sock doesn’t fall down in my sleep.

Apparently these socks also work well for PF.

10 comments on “Homemade strassburg sock

  1. Brilliant, and after your earlier comments on my blog, comically cool. 😉

    That’s how to save $75 right there.

  2. Aren’t you the craftsy one! Great idea, and a lot cheaper than what you buy in the store.

    • Shhh … Don’t tell anyone. You’ll ruin my reputation. LOL 🙂 . I taught myself to sew when I was in my late 20s. I spent a couple years making my own clothes and also Christmas dresses for my granddaughters. These days I’m too busy adventuring to spend much time behind the sewing machine but it still comes in handy for this kind of thing 🙂

  3. Well Done! I am not at all crafty and would have forked out the dough or just ignored it… I am currently ignoring my PF… I hope it works miracles!

    • LOL. I know what you mean about ignoring PF. I have spent many months ignoring my Achilles too 😉 If you lived in Australia I’d make one for you but postage to the US is quite expensive (more expensive than almost any other international destination).

  4. I used to make my own clothes in High School, to save money 🙂

    And thanks for the idea about the sock! And tell that hikingtohealthy to quit ignoring the PF. . . it will take SO much longer to heal.

    I think I will have to make myself one of those. . . . THANKS For the GREAT idea!

  5. This is a wonderful idea! Any chance you could post the instructions on how you made it? I’d like to make one for my boyfriend but unfortunately I’m not crafty enough to figure out based on the picture!

    • Hi
      All I did was sew a piece of fabric to the toe of the sock. Then I sewed a piece of velcro to the end of the fabric. I sewed a small loop of fabric to the top of the sock. Then you pull the velcro through the loop and tighten to how you need it.

Leave a Reply

