3 Comments

Preparing for my next walking microadventure

New maps by AndrewGills
New maps, a photo by AndrewGills on Flickr.

My son turns 23 in February. He’s more gamer than adventurer but in September 2011, I took him hiking over at Moreton Island. It was his first overnight hike and he still talks about it all the time. He went back to Moreton with a mate last year and has decided it’s his favourite place in the world.

So I’m hoping to get a Monday off work in early February to take him over for another overnighter (he works 10 hour shifts Wednesdays – Saturdays). This time we’ll take topographic maps and a compass so that we can escape the beach to explore the island. Maybe I’ll even let him talk me into snorkeling at the wrecks – maybe.

3 comments on “Preparing for my next walking microadventure

  1. I don’t think anything you do could be described as “micro,” Andrew. 🙂

    • Haha. The term “microadventure” is a new word that means that a person is doing something adventurous but on a smaller scale than the epic “round the world” type adventure. I have started to think of anything that involves camping out for 1-2 nights, or being outdoors or traveling for 24-72 hours as a microadventure.

      The idea of talking about “microadventures” is to create momentum around this concept so that people who might otherwise think they aren’t (or can’t be) adventurous might also get out and explore the outdoors. We’ve all heard them before: when I finally earn enough money I’ll sail around the world – I wish I could just quit my job and cycle around the world – if only I didn’t have to go to college because I really want to go backpacking – if only I were fitter and I’d climb Mt Everest. These same people are often the ones who spend weekends at home going about their chores or surfing the net planning that big trip they’ll take “when”.

      I’ve been that person too – the one who didn’t walk to the Lower Portals because it was “only” 8km return. The one who didn’t cycle 100km on the bikeways around the city because it wasn’t “in the wilderness”.

      Until I started reading more about microadventures. And then I realised that all these ordinary people with day jobs were going out doing some really cool stuff. And guess what – they didn’t need to travel around the world or for long distances or take holidays. They were cramming it into a day, a night, a weekend or a week. And they were rightly proud of their microadventure achievements.

      One of my 2014 goals (and arguably the one that most excites me) is to go on a 24-48 hour microadventure every month. Whether by motorbike, bicycle, foot or kayak – I want to explore places I’ve never been or see places I’ve been before in a different way. I am not counting my day walks as microadventures – but that’s a personal choice because they do actually fit the criteria. For me, the criteria I will use for my challenge is for the adventure to involve at least one full day and night outdoors or traveling. My January microadventure is a 3-day motorbike trip to my friend’s house in central Queensland. It’s 500km (300 miles) each way to her house and while I’m up there, she’s going to take me kayaking and I am hoping to join in her free local sailing classes.

      • All of it sounds amazing. This year I’ve decided I’m going to lay off the ultra long distances in running and racing and stick closer to home. I want to “just” run and enjoy the experience. I see so many of my friends doing more and more, longer and harder, and I’m just not there anymore. I just want to run for the enjoyment of it, not because I feel I have anything to prove.

Leave a Reply

