8 Comments

Loving being a cycle commuter

Commuter by AndrewGills
Commuter, a photo by AndrewGills on Flickr.

I used to be a cycle commuter. That was many years ago. Then I let it slide. I got lazy. I use the guy who tried to pull me off my bike, the guy with the hockey stick, the broken toe when I got doored and the day I got concussed banging my head against the side of a bus as excuses. But the reality is that those things never really scared me.

I’ve been back on my bike 3-4 days a week for almost half a year. I love it. I missed it all those years but didn’t realise what I missed. There’s something about the freedom of starting the day by doing something just for me; not the boss.

Mine is a short commute. Just 13km (8 miles) each way. Short enough to make it convenient but long enough to crack the 100km for four days riding. The roads are busy but, other than a short section, the shoulders are wide. And, if I get bored or want to spin my legs a bit more, I can take countless alternative routes.

8 comments on “Loving being a cycle commuter

  1. Awesome! Yay you!! I started commuting a few years ago and I use too many excuses –but I love it too. Today I am excusing myself . It is 30f and 30 mph winds. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  2. Way to go! I think 13km each way is about ideal for a daily commute. It really gives you enough time to get those endorphins flowing. Mine is 11.25ish km each way if I do the multimodal option; 26.75 each way if I ride the whole way. I usually do the multimodal to snag some extra homework time ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Yeah. I like the convenience of the 13km commute. I used to commute 35km (about 20 miles) each way when I was in my 20s and that really starts to both take it out of you and eat into home life. Especially if you are a relatively slow rider like me (I only do about 21-23kph when I commute).

  3. […] there’s Andrew Gillsย in Australia who decided to get back into cycle-commuting for 16 miles a day, several days a week […]

Leave a Reply

