6 Comments

Motorcycling with Dad

Dad on his wheels by andrewgillsag
Dad on his wheels, a photo by andrewgillsag on Flickr.

The sugar cane bristled in the dry wind, which fanned the flames of the massive bush fire on nearby Stradbroke Island. The plume of smoke coming from it looked rather like a bomb had exploded there and, by the time we reached the waterfront, we could see the broad band of smoke filling the whole eastern horizon.

We stopped at the Jacobs Well waterfront for ice creams and cold drinks. Mum joined us there, having driven down in her car. Late afternoon sea breezes cooled us as we watched people and boats come and go from the boat ramp. It brought back memories of the many weekends we spent at Jacobs Well during my childhood when my parents had, first, a small 14 foot catermeran and then a 21 foot trailer sailer.

We rode home as our shadows lengthened. Dad rode in front and was often silhouetted against the bright orange horizon. It’s a view of my dad that I’ll probably never forget.

It’s been a long time since I went for a motorbike cruise. We were only out for about 2 hours but it felt like so much longer; in a good way.

6 comments on “Motorcycling with Dad

  1. I’ve said it before, but your parents are totally cool!

  2. Now this is the kind of bike that I like!!!

    It sounds like a marvelous time!

  3. Heat. Ah. I think I remember that. . . Monday our high will be 2, low will be -10, wind chills -33 (all Fahrenheit). At least I don’t live in Minneapolis where my step-daughter lives. They will have a high of -17, low of -33, with wind chills of -54F!! YUCK!
    Stay healthy, bikerman! Sounds like you had an awesome time!

Leave a Reply

