11 Comments

Single speed bike build (first coat of colour)

Adding colour by andrewgillsag
Adding colour, a photo by andrewgillsag on Flickr.

I’ve dreamed about this for months – adding colour to the bike frame. I have been umming and aahing about the colour since I got the frame. I toyed with pink, green, white and orange. But when I was at the hardware selecting paints, I saw this yellow and knew it was right for the bike.

This is just the first coat. The frame will need 3-4 coats before it’s ready to be lacquered. I have realistic expectations for the outcome of the paint job – this is my first time using a rattle can. But I still want to get it as nice as my limited skills allow.

Watch this space 🙂 And Merry Christmas

11 comments on “Single speed bike build (first coat of colour)

  1. It’s going to look lovely! Can’t wait to see the finished product. Merry Christmas!

  2. Great looking colour. I just orderd my first single speed bike today 🙂

  3. Looks great. Love the drying rack. Any Mangos? Right color for the tree. Merry Christmas. Think I will go eat a mango now.

  4. Looks like a great project. I’d love to give this a go to an old frame so am interested to see the end result.

    • It’s been easier than I expected so far. I think that now the frame’s painted, I pretty much just have to bolt everything on. I’ll be buying parts over the coming weeks so will keep updating 🙂

Leave a Reply

