6 Comments

5,000 miles this year

One final pic as I crossed the Logan River bridge

There’s been a lot of these sorts of photos this year

Wow! If someone told me on 1 January that I would cycle over 5,000 miles this year, I would have quoted the famous line from that great Australian movie The Castle: “Tell ’em they’re dreamin'”. But here I am with just under three weeks left in 2013 and I have passed that seemingly magical figure.

Sure, we use the metric system in Australia. But 5,000 miles sounds much more lyrical than 8,000km. To put this into perspective, I cycled just 2,500km or 1,500 miles in 2012. Even taking the 3,100km (1,900 miles) of Cycling for Hope into account, that’s a massive increase in general cycling mileage over the past 12 months.

I wonder whether I’ll pass the magic 10,000km in 2014 … Who knows …

Total today: 12.4km commute to work + tonight’s commute home

6 comments on “5,000 miles this year

  1. Well done. That is a good few hours in the saddle.

  2. What was the motivation to cover that many Ks?

    • It just happened. 3100km were dine in 1 month during Cycling for Hope and then I fell back in love with the bike. Before I knew it I had swapped the frustration and anxiety of running for chilling while riding long miles. All that scenery to be seen and new places to discover

  3. That is awesome. I just passed 500 miles. 🙂 HA! Sounds so little compared to your awesomeness!

    • You have done so many other things that I haven’t. For example, you are smashing it in the pool while I can’t remember the last time I went swimming. And didn’t you have a book published this year? That is an amazing achievement – a wonderful legacy of knowledge to leave future generations 🙂 .

      But I know what you mean. Last year, I saw that Mr Car v Bike passed the 5,000 mile mark and I barely managed to get through 2,500km (1,500 miles). I felt so in awe at his mileage and thought I might like to one day reach that figure. This year I learned that anyone can reach 5,000 miles but you pretty much have to focus on cycling as your primary sport (unless you are one of those more serious multisport athletes). 🙂

  4. 🙂 You’re so sweet!
    I am in awe of your mileage, yes. But you’re right. I have other accomplishments. Perhaps it’s because I love cycling the best and I just don’t get miles in like I should!
    You’re right. I am one of those multisport people 🙂 I enjoy them all. Now, if I could only make it through PT and be healthy again!

Leave a Reply

