3 Comments

Route setting

Bikes in bush by andrewgillsag
Bikes in bush, a photo by andrewgillsag on Flickr.

With the air so thick that it was like breathing sea water, we set off to into the bush on our mountain bikes to hang flags for next weekend’s adventure race training day.

It’s been raining heavily most nights so everything was lush and green; a change from the long months of dust. The tracks themselves are holding up well though; they probably won’t become water logged and unrideable until the new year.

I struggled with the ride, particularly the uphills and logs, after yesterday’s long ride in the heat. We were out for 5 hours and I only had a 600ml bottle of water with me. That was definitely not enough. I also didn’t carry any food because I didn’t expect to be out so long.

We hung about half the checkpoints so still have a bit of work to do this week.

Oh, and in other news, my gear rack arrived this week. I ended up needing one for my Tasmania tour. It’s fantastic. I went with a Topeak Explore 29er rack. It was easy to mount and didn’t get in the way or rattle while we were riding single track today.

Total: 20km MTB

3 comments on “Route setting

  1. Nice post and photo Andrew. Can’t believe I’ve only just found your new blog!

Leave a Reply

