6 Comments

Just spinning my legs

Check out that sky! by andrewgillsag
Check out that sky!, a photo by andrewgillsag on Flickr.

I spin my legs gently. My bike takes me forward at a relaxed pace as I enjoy the sight of the blue sky dotted with clouds. I have a 12 hour adventure race tomorrow, so don’t want to wear myself out.

MAMILS* and triathletes zip past me in both directions. Most appear to be in their forties and fifties. They don’t bother to wave, nod or say good morning.

Perhaps I am too much an amateur in their eyes; dressed as I am in casual shorts, t-shirt and mountain bike shoes while riding my old road bike. Perhaps they are too busy. Or, scarily, perhaps those coming towards me don’t even realise I am there.

See, the MAMILs are riding in small bunches, staring intently at the buttocks of the man in front of them. And the triathletes are all laying flat on their tri-bars. Their eyes are firmly fixed on their cycle computers and they glance up occasionally to look at the road ahead before going back to their number crunching.

I wonder whether these cyclists with whom I share the road even notice the colour of the sky, which contrasts so brilliantly with the grey thunder clouds that have been rolling in every night. Or whether they realise that the grass has changed this week from a dry brown and yellow to an almost iridescent green; thanks to the rain those nightly thunder storms have been dropping.

It’s interesting to think that we cyclists are often all lumped together. But there are definitely distinct tribes. In which tribe do I belong? Who knows. But I ain’t no MAMIL and I think the scenery is far more interesting than the speed at which I am (or am not) traveling.

Total: 15.2km spin (road bike) + 12.4km commute (MTB on road)

* A MAMIL is a Middle Aged Man In Lycra

6 comments on “Just spinning my legs

  1. Enjoying the journey as much as the destination. Have to agree it’s a much more enjoyable way to experience life and savour more of the moments. I’d put you the journey man category.

    • I had to look up the definition of journeyman or journey man. Yes, I think that’s a good category. Both in the singular and separated word format. Someone who is experienced and good at their sport but will never be great or a star. And also a man who enjoys the journey.

      I used to worry more about the destination. When I look back through some of my older posts, particularly in late 2011 / early 2012, I can see that I was really focused on my average speed and on hitting training targets. But as I’ve gained confidence in who I am and the way I want to live, that’s changed a lot. These days, the only real reason I keep tabs on my mileage is out of curiosity and to ensure I do enough exercise to try to combat the long hours of sitting in front of a computer that make up my life. And, I guess, to make sure I travel enough miles to create some sort of journey 🙂

      • I hadn’t looked up the definition. Now I have, I don’t like some of the definition. I literally meant a person on a wandering journey, present in the experience, aspirant to becoming a master of that craft or the journey itself.
        Who needs labels I am happy to be called Scott.

        • LOL. Don’t worry, I knew what you meant. 🙂 But I had heard the term before when I was a trade apprentice so had to look it up. I don’t need labels either but sometimes I like to play with words … 🙂

          Bring on the weekend I say … Still blue skies out there for now …

  2. As I sit here looking at the frosty grass and cloudy sky I’d love to be able to cycle in skies like those lol!

Leave a Reply

