Leave a comment

A circuitous ride to work

Exploring on my roadie by andrewgillsag
Exploring on my roadie, a photo by andrewgillsag on Flickr.

Gravel crunches under my tyres. Despite being local to my home, I have never before ridden this short gravel road between the vegetable farms. At it’s end I reach the bitumen again on Lagoon Road where my riding along scares some goats grazing in a paddock.

Acreage houses sit easily along the road until I reach a small pocket of suburbia. A federation-style house looks out of place between the 1980s brick architecture and one single post-war house. At a corner I see the obligatory junk house looking frighteningly derelict and I can’t help but wonder whether it will fall down while it’s owner is asleep one night.

A short 10.9% grade climb leads me back to the main road and the rest of my commute.

Total: 41.1km road cycle (Strava here) + 13.5km road cycle home

Leave a Reply

